A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

It is controversial to say that a person's worth has to be judged by their social status and material possessions and not by their inner values, such as honour, kidness and trust. Following this, people who believe old-fashioned values are no longer important also claim that outer appearance is what needs to be paid attention to. On the one hand, proponents of this view believe that other people's opinions are who you actually are, and the only important thing is to be who you want to be in other people's minds. This is why social status and material possessions are necessary, and even faking it is an opportunity, it is better to be fake than weird. Not only is it no longer worth having values unrecognised from the outside, like personality, but it is also valueless if financial or social positions are unobservable. On the other hand, I stand with those who consider old-fashioned values an important judgement subject. It is substantial to have rights. Whether or not people prejudge, it isn't necessary to be worthy in their eyes, honour, kindness and trust are still very precious. Moreover, it is very enjoyable to increase the worth of personality in an environment while being prejudged about appearance and social position by strangers. In conclusion, while many people hold the belief that nowadays judging people by their personalities is old-fashioned and useless, I side with those who think that having a great personality is way more important than being acceptable to society.