Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are the possible risks and the benefits of this?

Compared with earlier periods, children are watching more TV shows. In this essay, I will analyze the drawbacks and benefits of the situation as follows. On the one hand, children watching abundant TV programs indeed has some drawbacks. Excessive TV hours not only cause some physical problems but also may affect children's mental health. For instance, many educational experts have indicated that the number of nearsighted children is increasing sharply, and their sight is consistently deteriorating because of watching overabundant TV screens in contemporary times. Furthermore, the mental aspect may be a more serious problem. As children's thinking is generally immature, they have a higher likelihood of being affected by programs, which contain many violent elements, and ultimately generate some negative emotions. Therefore, these risks could result in detrimental effects on children's physical and mental well-being. On the other hand, watching more TV can still have some advantages, especially in absorbing knowledge. If parents pick up suitable episodes for children to watch, they can learn more comprehensively and more rapidly to grow up. Episodes such as art, semiconductors, and modern physics are significantly helpful for children to learn, providing additional resources in education. In addition, it is not surprising that absorbing more knowledge is more likely to develop multiply, and ultimately become successful. As a result, with adequate restrictions on some programs, children might learn more holistically, thereby being successful. To sum up, watching excessive programs is indeed jeopardized. It could lead to some issues, such as nearsighted problems and being affected by certain violent programs. Children's sight would still deteriorate, producing more negative emotions from TV. However, in a healthy environment, children can receive multi-faceted knowledge from certain academic shows.