In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? and is it positive or negative development?

In the current era of industrialization, there are many people who live in some countries that take long hours to work, which gradually become a trend in the citizens of some countries for a range of reasons. Furthermore, I would argue that the drawbacks of it outweigh the benefits. There are three key reasons why the workers spend long hours at work. Firstly, the work environment fosters inspiration of work for labourers, and addresses different problems directly. In fact, when people work at a place where there are a lot of people that they have made an effort to complete their tasks, which forces workers to do. Secondly, many employees have to deal with a heavy workload and complete a lot of plans. Finally, the more and more talented labour force appear, accordingly they must work the whole day at the company in order to search for the opportunity of promotion and compete with new employees. However, I believe that this issue has a negative impact on development. As a matter of fact employees are engaged in a corporation for long hours, they have trouble in balancing between work and relationships around them. That places people under pressure in an uncomfortable work environment. The fixed and rigid working schedule makes them have no time for themselves, and having to strictly follow orders can lose creativity. Moreover, without taking a day-off, employees would be exhausted, due to mental health conditions such as depression, ergophobia and so on. From the business perspective, the productivity of products has decreased, and no new products have been created to keep up with market demand, making enterprises on the verge of bankruptcy. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for individuals who can balance their work reasonably, I consider it to be an adverse development overall.