An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping on line.

Myriads of people now shop online for their requirements. People now shop products online24/7 basis. They can also compare the prices of same goods on different shopping websites. Whereas the downside of online shopping is that they can be duped by fraudsters. Also, the quality of goods cannot be ascertained because product is not visibly checked by buyers. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of shopping online. To begin with, Companies can now sell their products on 24/7 basis as they have to put images and payment details on e-commerce websites like amazon, eBay and so on. Customer can now compare prices of item on several web-based retail websites. Moreover, Consumer Have option to choose from wide variety of product in reasonable price. Simultaneously, Companies Now experiencing surge in sales, because of online shopping platforms. Their reach to consumer has now expanded which benefits their businesses. For example, Local businesses can sell product to anywhere in world with the help of online shopping website by just creating listing of their products online. However, more consumers are now duped by fraudsters clamming to be vendors of shopping websites. Furthermore, there is a rise in fraud involving payment of products ordered online. People are targeted by cyber criminals to make money by promising them delivery of their order placed online. Moreover, another demerit of online shopping is that quality of products cannot be ascertained by buyer as they rely on reviews posted by buyers. Products cannot be seen, touched by buyers. To illustrate, the return of products ordered online is 55% of orders globally on shopping websites like amazon, eBay. In conclusion, although e-commerce websites provide convenience for buyers globally along with benefits like price comparison and free delivery still there are downsides to it like online payments fraud and delivery of substandard products.