Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that online communication is growing globally these days. Many people prefer to interact through online platforms instead of meeting in person, I believe that the virtual world offers valuable opportunities to new generations and assists them in overcoming limitations and obstacles such as distance. First of all, using social media saves time and money. Meeting people in person can cost a lot and require hours of preparation. By confirming a face to-face meeting, there are several activities that you have unconsciously approved, including the arrangement of a decent place for a meeting, setting an available time for the participants so that they can all attend and selection of an appropriate clothing. Also, transportation needs to be considered. However, online communications are an alternative method to not squander your financial resources and time by which you can interact with anyone at any time possible tumbling in the warmth of your bed with convenient clothes. Furthermore, social media removes distance barriers and borders. The online platforms create a connected world where you can get in touch with people all around the universe in a blink of an eye. In fact, distance no longer matters and people communicate with each other through social media. For example, online education enables people to share their knowledge globally without any concerns about distance or nationality while such communication usually will not be possible in person. In conclusion, Online communication is evolving and people tune into social media more and more. Considering the convenience and opportunities that it provides for us today, I believe that its growing trend certainly has positive effects.