The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer solution.

Over the last decade, there is a 20 per cent increase of obese children in western societies. It can be seen that these days there are many causes and effects of the adolescents being overweight at such a young age. In this essay, we will discuss the main factors of why it happened and solutions to lessen this problem. One of the main causes that we can see is the easy access of junk food and its availability. This type of food can be obtained easily in any supermarket with a low price which makes it easier for parents to buy it for their children. Other than that, most of the kids are not exposed with diet practices and not knowing the ingredients that they consumed are bad for their health. Kids are often seen to be eating snacks during their free time and turning it into a habit until they turned overweight as they rarely play outside and prefer to stay inside playing games while snacking. However, this issue can be mitigated by increasing the tax on junk food by the government to ensure that citizens lead a healthy lifestyle and encouraging them to cook more at home to guarantee eating wholesome food. Moreover, guardians can teach their children to eat more vegetables and fruits frequently since young to make sure they get used to it and not wanting to eat junk food as their nibbles. Adolescents can also become more fit and grow up accordingly to their age. In conclusion, parents need to play their roles into turning their children to eat beneficially. Some of the factors can be prevent by taking the right actions as kids need to consume good food to avoid unwanted diseases such as being obese, diabetes and others at an early age.