The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer solution.

In this contemporary world, obesity has become a serious problem. In Western societies, the proportion of obese children has increased by approximately 20% in the last decade. There are a number of causes of this but certain measures could be taken to alleviate this problem. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons as well as the possible solutions for this issue. There are several causes of this situation.One of the most significant obstacles to obesity is the excessive use of junk foods. Nowadays, people mostly eat fast food which causes them several stomach problems as a result they become chubby. Additionally, another contributing factor to the overweight population is the lack of physical activities. Now, people after eating food do not engage in physical activities like exercise. For example, in the USA, approximately 30% of the population is overweight because they mostly remain engaged in indoor movements like video games and computers. Various possible courses of action could be taken in order to tackle the above problems. Firstly, parents should prevent their children from consuming too much junk food and also advise them to eat a natural diet because if they eat healthy foods their bodies will gain muscles which help them to lose weight and fats. Secondly, another way to reduce this issue is doing exercise like running and walking. For instance, in Asian countries like India, most children engage in outdoor activities like kabbadi and cricket which help them to remain active. To conclude, there is a vast oversimplification of this issue. Mainly, obesity is due to the use of junk foods and lack of exercise but this issue can be resolved by taking a healthy diet and doing regular exercise.