It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks be greater than benefits to community and the young adults themselves?

Some argue that all youngsters must spend some portions of their time by volunteering for the people who are in need in the community. I believe that the advantages of such action far outweigh the disadvanatages. On the one hand, I agree that not all adolescents should be forced to do something they do not want to. They should not feel obliged just because others do the opposite. Besides, some people may not have enough time to take such responsibility because they may have other commitments, such as family, friends, work, and studies. It is easy to judge those people and considering them selfish, however we cannot know what each individual goes through. On the other hand, despite abovementioned arguments, taking time for the community may have a plethora of positive sides. Firstly, one small action can be enough to make people's day. For example, visiting an orphanage may stimulate children to feel more important and loved, considering they tend to feel thesmelvers lonely. Secondly, it may help the youngsters to feel more content and happy. This is because they dedicate their time to something useful for the humanity. They can take pride in their actions and learn how to be generous and kind-hearted. Additionally, they can improve their interpersonal skills like communication and empathy as these are skills are extremely demanded in today's world. People who lack these skills may ruin the society. Last but not least, these actions can be an example for younger generations. Some people become self-centered every day, and they do not even realize that other people live in inferior conditions in comparison to them. They may feel inspired once they saw how older people take action for these problems. In conclusion, although I am against putting pressure on young people to involve in unpaid work and giving up their other necessities, I am of the opinion that young adults should immerse themselves in those activities to make people and themselves happy, enhancing their human skills, and be an example for younger people.