The main purpose of public libraries should be to provide books. Public libraries should not spend their limited resources on computer software, videos, or DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The function of public libraries is a controversial topic; some support the notion that they should allocate all of their limited funding on books, whilst others argue that libraries should also facilitate access to DVDs, videos and software for the public. Although it is true that dedicating a larger portion of their budget to books will allow libraries to have more comprehensive collections, it must be stated that, in today's modern world, software and videos are also valuable resources that individuals should be able to access in libraries. On the one hand, it is clear that most libraries struggle with insufficient funding. Because of this, many risk being overwhelmed by the addition of new resource types, like videos, that not only require additional storage, but also need new systems to be developed when renting them out. In contrast, simply purchasing new books with their budget will cause minimal intrusion to their current systems, making maintenance easier. For example, many libraries lack the room to add video displays and DVD racks, whereas new books can be seamlessly added to the same bookshelves that are already placed inside. Despite this, it is an undeniable reality that a large portion of resources today are produced in video or software format, and must be available to the public within libraries. As mentioned above, because libraries serve to facilitate public learning, they must also have stocks of video, DVDs, and software alongside books. This is because, while books may have been the only resource for earnin learning gin the past, in today's world, much knowledge is delivered in other formats. Thus, not being able to provide this will result in libraries providing insufficient services. For instance, the National Library of Turkey, has an astonishing number of videos, software, and many more formats available to the public, and many sing praises for it because of the options to consume these as well. To sum up, the allocation of libraries ' budgets is undoubtedly an important topic of debate. And, although some may see more benefit in giving the most resources to books, failing to include other formats is likely to hinder their ability to provide learning.