As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The internet has become ubiquitous in modern society, resulting in the abandonment of newspapers. Whether or not this is beneficial for us, is a moot point. However, this essay agrees with this sentiment due to the reasons the upcoming paragraphs elaborate on. To begin with, technology offers a more convenient and flexible method for a community to receive daily news and information as everyone would have easy access to websites or social media. This is of paramount importance because it could inculcate curiosity in the younger generations and prevent them from being ignorant towards global issues. To illustrate, students at boarding schools are capable of acquiring information regarding the recent Olympic games through the Internet, without having to buy newspapers outside. In essence, the digital revolution has transformed the way we access information and made it much more effortless. Furthermore, halting the production of newspapers would be an advantageous movement to save the deteriorating Earth, as producing it entails numerous barks from trees. By converting to the internet for news dissemination, individuals are able to minimise the usage of papers and eventually abstain from the rise of global temperatures due to a severe loss in flora. Besides, this would mitigate the effects of climate change that have detrimental consequences to humans and animals. One instance that exemplifies this is the reduction of wildlife habitat that will cause extinction. To put it another way, obtaining information from devices is more environmentally friendly than newspapers. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, although newspapers might be more comfortable for some people, it is worth noting that the Internet brings substantial benefits to society and environmental sustainability.