in many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. do you think is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary days, it is quite common to see a large number of people moving to the urban areas from the outskirts, which contributes to the population of the rural areas continuous decline. From my perspective, the drawbacks brought by this trend are far more than its benefits. Apparently, I have to admit that this trend indicates cities have efficient development. With many people continuing to flock to the downtown area, there are lots of high-quality employees to service the companies, which it is beneficial to enhancing economic development. At the same time, the environment of the rural area can be kept well as well. However, as what has been illustrated above, I still think there are more weaknesses we have to face from this tendency. Its disadvantages are transparently obvious, one of which is that can place a heavy strain on cities. To be more specific, the transport facilities might not support loads of passengers, and the price of housing might dramatically increase. Meanwhile, the air quality and noise level will become too harsh day by day. As a result, the resident's quality of life will experience a significant drop. Another disadvantage that we cannot overlook is that the population of rural areas decreases. It is detrimental to developing local infrastructure and facilities, such as high schools, hospitals, and others. In addition, as these areas lack of workforce, the economy will develop slowly. People earn less money in the countryside, which causes a big gap between the rich in cities and the poverty in rural areas. It is harmful to society's safety. In conclusion, as has been shown above, the economy can boost efficiency in some cases. However, this trend should not be encouraged, considering the problems it causes to individuals and society.