The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there are numerous number of cars on roads in UK due to a huge development starts from 1888. To begin, there is a discussion whether substitutes and legislation for car s are required or not. I personally agree that restriction for vehicles are needed, as well as boosting other transport methods such as a bus and a train. Firstly, many cars on the road could create congestion, which delays the travel time. For example, there is a tax for congestion imposed by the UK government to discourage the usage of cars. This leads to decerased cars on the high way, as well as raising the revenue for the government, yielding to spending on the pubalic transport. However, this could be insignificant as the rate of tax is low to disincentivise drivers. Thus, the legal authority should project clearly to not create any backfires. Secondly, some cars could be used in illegal activities such as delivering drugs and guns. For instance, Mexican cartels mainly utilised their vehicles to traport illegal substances to the U.S. Hence, there would be higher crime rates if there is no strong law to prevent serious incidents. Therefore, a various types of identification should be fulled by the govenment to create a safe society in the area. In conclusion, constructing laws and alternatives for cars are crucial to solve social problems such as traffic jams and creation of illegal communities. I strongly argue that these process are needed as long as they benefit the government rather than the society.