WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is widely acknowledged that modern technology has brought people together, but there are also others disagreeing with this idea. As far as I'm concerned, I partly agree with this idea. On the one hand, the development of technology effectively brings people together. Firstly, the internet covers an extremely long distance with signals. For example, people in the past had to travel to certain place to meet their friends in another city, while contemporarily, people are accessible to each other online. Secondly, the internet provides people with a platform where everyone can give his or her own opinion and can learn what others think. For example, in ancient time, only reputed people could write his views down and spread his views among people, but contemporarily, everyone was endowed the chance to discuss online, which really unit the people. Finally, with the help of emerging technology --artificial technology, it is estimated that some of the exhausting job will be replaced, so people can search more profoundly in their spiritual world, which actually makes people more sympathetic. On the other hand, to some extent, modern technology also drives people apart. As is said, the internet provides people with a platform to show their own ideas, which also means that there are more chance for radical and cynical ideas to be exposed to all walks of life. People are more likely to be divided ideologically into different parties, causing more conflicts, which could be an expensive and exhausting election in democratic society or a war to drive people more apart and more astray. In conclusion, I believe that modern technology is helpful, and people could form a more unbreakable union with the help of modern technology, but people should always be aware that modern technology is also endowed with potentials to drive us apart, so people must be saner and more sensitive to avoid such kind of risks