Many people feel that urban environments are more unhealthy than they have ever been. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem?

Although Medicine is a field which has a myriad of branches with a lot of fascinating and impressive ways of studying it, one of the most awe-inspiring characteristics is, without a doubt, its well-balanced relationship among natural, formal and social sciences. This mixture leads to a wide spectrum of complex stumbling blocks which requires an appropriate combination of curiosity and multidisciplinarity to solve them. From a very early age, this aroused my interest and prompted me to study not only the structure of the human body and physiology but also the mechanisms of pathogenesis with the respective treatments. My Bachelor’s Degree in Medical Science (Medical Doctor, MD), which was studied at Universidad Militar Nueva Granada in Bogotá, Colombia, was a complete training in both clinical and research fields using analytical methods as well as evidence-based medicine techniques. The integration of these aspects along with acquiring the basic knowledge about natural sciences, such as cellular biology, biophysics, biochemistry, anatomy, histology, etc, showed me how perfect the functionality and homeostasis of human beings is, however, it still lacks information. Since then, Health Sciences became a passion for me, showing a high academic performance with award scholarships being granted due to ‘The Class of Honors Qualification’, and achieving the best GPA over 52 alumni in my class graduating students. Over time and parallel to my academic duties, my career interests in the research field constantly increased. In the beginning, they were focused on Stem Cells, Genetics & Genomics, and Bioethics, taking an elective course for three years related to these branches in which there were theoretical and practical immersive sessions. Hence, exploring deeper into the most specific literacy and research done from ancient times to the present day as well as learning cutting-edge techniques about cultures, analysis, and methodology, finally being part of the ‘BioGenEtica Research Group’ at the above-mentioned University. After that, my research experience broadened to other topics linked to microbiology and parasitology, researching mainly diseases caused by helminths and protozoa that affect children in Colombia. These projects have been presented at several not only national but also international symposiums and conferences as well as have been published in indexed journals. Regarding my work experience, during the last academic year, which is known as ‘The Internship’, the general clinical rotations were deeper in knowledge about Pediatrics, Surgery, and Gynecology and Obstetrics, and my elective program consisted of seven months related to Internal Medicine. Subsequently, after my graduation, my clinical performance was focused on the Internal Medicine field mainly related to critical care, emergency room, and inpatient health care. Additionally, taking specific continuing education courses to learn the most innovative strategies about COVID-19 management and fundamental critical care support certified by The Society of Critical Care Medicine. Based on the aforementioned and after my backgrounds and experiences in all scenarios, namely academic, work, and research, not only my critical thinking and problem-solving skills have been developed faster but also the relationship between The Technological Field and Medicine has awakened my interest. This is mostly because there are endless techniques that have rocketed the bioinformatics and health informatics research, health care database analysis, health administration, and public health. Therefore, I am undertaking a virtual Postgraduate Program in Artificial Intelligence in The University of Texas at Austin, which has given me tools aimed at Python Programming Code, Machine Learning, and Neural Networks.