In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, with the rise of better medical facilities and innovations, societies have longer life spans than ever before. Some argue that an old population creates problems for governments, whereas others say there are benefits to having more elderly people. From my perspective, the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, when there are more old people, it means that there is a larger number of wise individuals. They may serve as teachers, nurses, or even unimportant jobs to let the innovative youngsters take the place of high-ranking positions so as to not waste talent. Also, they are veterans of battles and wars, and having them means that we will not have to necessarily put the young on the frontlines, allowing a smarter crowd and fewer impacts. A country’s prosperity is decided by many factors, and having a large, old community means that it is efficient, cutting-edge and paints a better image for the governing body. On the other hand, most old people are out of commission or retired already, so if we raise the retirement age, the young and elderly would rebel and protest, so retired people only serve as a buffer. Furthermore, you would have to build many houses to house old members and more food to feed them, which may put stress on developing countries, hindering growth. Last but not least, not everybody approves of having to go on the frontlines in a bloody war, so even if some volunteer, most do not and will only become ordinary citizens. In conclusion, although there are advantages, I strongly believe that having an old populace is bad and brings backlashes to the government both in peace and wartime.