One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years Medicare reached fantastic discoveries and results in treatments so people can enjoy longevity and want to explore life further to get all the benefits despite their ages. While the changes brought many benefits, there are several drawbacks. Both views will be illustrated in this essay. Personally, I tend to see only the positive sides of this phenomenon and think life is too interesting to live it short. Medical care today provides to society a better life from all perspectives. For example near some decades ago sick persons who suffered from chronic diseases like diabetes or various kinds of hepatitis suffered from the start of diagnosis of the illness and preferred to stay at home due to the poor health. But now it is difficult to recognise such patients if they get their medicines on time. Moreover for example for diabetic patients, there is no need to pinch a finger for test the blood constantly and measure the sugar index, the special pomp which is adhered to the skin gives instant results to the smartphone. This gives them the feeling of freedom from the decease and they plan their living with long perspectives to the future: see the grandchildren, travel, change the profession or start the new business. As a result contemporary medicine safe people’s lives and gives a lot of liberty which in turn changes mindset. However, there is one main disadvantage of modern medicine and this is the price. All cures for many deceases are very expensive. Only a few rich persons can afford real good innovative treatment or operations and the government can provide just basic. People get enormous loans and sell properties just to have a chance to be cured. Consequently, not all patients who suffer can afford the treatment of today’s medicine and this is the most of disappointing fact. In summary, this essay covered both the pros and cons of present-day medical care. Apart from finding solutions to cure diseases and give people optimistic long years ahead free from pain, the prices for the medical services and remedies restrain the opportunity to get them at all levels of society.