Some people believe that authorities need to plan for more vertical cities with really tall buildings since our land for the expansion of cities is limited. What are the advantages and disadvantages, in your opinion, of vertical cities that have really tall buildings and everything within these buildings? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many societies, people hold the opinion that due to the limited amount of residential land, it is more useful to design and consequently construct vertical cities. There are some advantages and disadvantages of this fact which will be covered below in this essay. Personally, I am inclined to agree with this statement, and think that skyscrapers are compact and can include all necessary facilities. First and foremost, there is the enormous population growth on our Planet and it constantly rising. If to start investigating demographic changes, it is vivid fact that during the past few centuries, amount of people in general tend to increase. For example this relates to China, Vietnam and India. The government of these areas has the policy to build multistory apartments. They are compact and some of them can contain more than 10 000 people, and have access to many amenities such as parking slots, gyms and coffees. It is clear that this idea of creating these buildings helps solve demographic issues and needs of the residents. On the other hand, high-rise buildings are fragile. Making towers strong and resistant to cataclysms should be the core aim during the planning and design of these kinds of projects. To be more precise, countries located in high seismic zones like Japan and Turkey go through catastrophic challenges during earthquakes. As result, thousands of buildings are destroyed and buried vast amount of people’s lives. In conclusion, vertical cities are the best decision for countries with a high densely population though the architecture should be secure and robust.