Some people think that social networking sites have a hug negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In recent times, technology has become increasingly advanced, and many applications have been created to support individuals’ work. Therefore, it is argued that social networking sites may offer several immense detrimental impacts on both the personal and societal levels. I would argue that although social networking sites will be able to offer certain drawbacks, there are more positive impacts such as experiencing diverse cultures and gaining new knowledge or skills. At first glance, the main drawback of social networking platforms is social impact. Once people typically work only on their screens and in their rooms, they tend to lose their confidence when they step outside their comfort zones. Consequently, it will mitigate personal abilities in order to express themselves. According to a social behavior research conducted by Tokyo University in 2023, over 60% of regular social media users struggle with their self-confidence and verbal expression in the workplace after Covid-19 pandemic. Despite the downside of using social media platforms, there are two benefits. Firstly, when users engage in social media platform, they have a tendency to experience diversely. This is because people globally access the same sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, which allow users to meet people from different backgrounds or nations, and this is the feature connecting people together. As a result, those who aim to study abroad or move to other countries for employment, and they enable to adapt to the new environment quickly, especially to language barriers and culture shocks across the country. The other benefit is new knowledge gained. Social media platforms have become a place for sharing information from various sources, which offers potential benefits to its users. For instance, governments frequently post information regarding volunteers on social media platforms because in this way, it easily approaches voluntary seekers. Because of this, individuals have opportunities to participate and improve their resumes. In conclusion, although social networking sites carry some drawbacks on social impact, these platforms may offer valuable advantages in terms of diversity and information awareness.