In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, in business there is an emphasis when showcasing products by terming them, 'brand new'. This is because people love new things. I think it is a positive strategy benefiting the company advertising and also a negative development for customers. On the one hand, it must be noted that many people prefer purchasing new things than second hand items. Because of this, business people emphasise that their goods are new so as to attract many people. For example, a chocolate company bought chocolates in a certain wholesale in Dubai and changed the package and claimed that the chocolates were brand new. Thus, it is noted that companies emphasise their products are new yet they are not. On the other hand, giving false information is never good. Moreover, companies are lying to people by advertising that their goods are new when they are not. Further, this should be noted as a negative development for the consumers because these business people are lying. For instance, some people have a habit of buying clothes at a cheap shop and selling them in their shop at a higher price. They remove the old price tag and name of previous company and put their own. Moreover, they advertise and declare the clothes to be originally and new from their shop. Thus, it should be noted that other companies are stealing other companies’ brands, changing them and making them their own and at the same time lying to the public and taking advantage of other people. In conclusion, nowadays, in most cases, adverts emphasise their products as being new. While this is good for the seller, because people adore new things, conversely, it should be noted that it is bad for the customer who is being lied upon.