Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whilst some people think that transforming park lands to residential infrastructure could be the solution of the ongoing housing crisis, I strongly believe that these actions would be more hurtful than helpful, as they could completely change the key features of any city. On the one hand, park lands sometimes occupy significant proportion of a city that could be used as a space for new houses. It is understandable that some city councils believe that destroying recreational areas for residential purposes is justifiable, as it would provide new homes for many people. In addition, some also argue that the more houses and flats are available in a city, the lower the prices are because the demand for them is naturally satisfied. However, there are crucial points that show the importance of parks and fallacy of previously mentioned argument. First, parks serve for recreational purposes, meaning that residents use them when seeking entertainment or escape from the rush of the city. Without them, people would lose places where they could spend their free time while, simultaneously, keep in touch with the nature. Furthermore, vast green areas are important for creating good-quality ecosystem, as they cool down the temperature and provide oxygen through photosynthesis. Lastly, the myth of more houses equals low prices has been debunked. This is ultimately in hands of real estate agencies that usually do not lower the house prices, as high-demand environment remains even with the construction of new residential infrastructure. In conclusion, while there is slight validity of the argument that transforming park lands into residential areas is a good idea, I argue that this would change the key parts of any modern city, as parks play crucial role in this environment.