Some people say that advertising is extremely successful in persuading us to buy things. Other people believe that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are opposing views regarding the outreach and determining influence of modern advertising methods. Many believe that they are a huge success is shaping our purchasing behaviour, while others underestimate their impact as marginal. I am of the opinion that advertising is still of significant effect to the extent that even lack of attention does not prevent its penetration into our unconscious mind. On the one hand, the influence of adverts has not diminished yet, in contrast they maintain an immense convinsing stamina. A vast number of citizens and even our aquitances often purchase their shopping items through TV commercials or online pop-up ads, for example. Furthermore, our hectic and fast-paced world results in people to usually do not have sufficient time to research meticulously about their buying options, leading to the even more dominance of adverts in our decision making process. Therefore, ads keep a tremendous level of persuading impact on our shopping bahaviour. On the other hand, another important point to consider is that even if we totally neglect commercials and flyers, they still are being absorbed automatically into our mind. For instance, if we drive or use public transport to commute to our workplace, we would be unconsciously bombarded by a tonne of billboards on streets and buildings. Moreover, once we are in a physical or online shop, we would automatically go for the appealing brands and products that are already stationed in our brain. Hence, suggesting not paying attention to adverts is not really a pragmatic one since it will bring about its effect no matter what. In conclusion, advertising maintains its tremendous impact, resulting in particular purchasing decisions and shopping attitudes. In addition, even if we deliberately decide not to contemplate on them, they will penetrate our unconscious leading to certain brands and items appeal to us more than others. Buttom line, it may seem that there is no escape from their determining role on our generation in the twenty first century.