Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

Nowadays, it is undeniable that the internet has become an essential part of our lives. However, there is no absolute agreement on whether government should provide free access to interner or it sshould be paid for like other services such as public utilities. In this essay, i will compare both views and give my own opinion. A common held belief is that internet providers deserve to be paid for their services. Firstly, it is not a secret that internet infrastructure needs regular maintenance to function properly, otherwise there would be a lot of glitches. Governmets and the internet companies spend a lot of money to maintain this service and pay salary to staff. Additionaly, there are internet servers and lines that should be builded that results a substantial costs. If there is free internet for all people, these companies and governments will not have resources to pay salaries and there will be no finance to provide internet. As a result, it leads to financial crisis in internet fields and demotivation of workers. On the other hand, some people claim that internet access should be free. For example, they mention that nowadays all essential fields are dependent on the internet. From health care to banking, many essential services are now offered online. Free internet would allow people to access these services without additional costs. Otherwise, people who can not pay for the Internet will be cut off from civilization. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that government should decrease a price for internet access in poor areas. Also, i think that there should be wireless hotspots in public places. As a result, there still will be financial profit for companies, but It will also ensure that everyone can participate in today’s digital world without barriers.