Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree

People have different views as to whether the news is not related to an individual's life, hence some people declare that it is unnecessary to read or watch the news. In my perspective, despite there are some disadvantages of the news, I firmly believe that it brings about many more benefits. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why it is a waste of time to perceive information from the news. Firstly, nowadays, it contains several of fake news, and not all of the news is correct because authorities can add or delete some details as they wish, causing anxiety to people who perceive it. For instance, in 2019, my grandmother genuinely believed that COVID-19 could be transmitted to humans by salmon because she watched television news programs, even though it had not been scientifically tested. Moreover, it can be used as a tool for big companies or for political purposes since there is evidence that various organizations employ the news to manipulate people. On the other hand, other people have different views and argue that the news can be connected to humans' lives in two aspects. The first contributing factor is that it keeps people informed about global situations and local events. To be more illustrated, individuals can follow the current trend of the world, and know what is going on across the continent, enhancing their general knowledge simultaneously. Furthermore, it informs people about the weather, which is beneficial in a country such as Japan, where tsunami or earthquakes tends to occur. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts of the news, I am convinced that the news is essential to people's lives.