In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

With Technological advancement, it is evident that physical money will be replaced with digital payment. However, elderly people would not be satisfied to use these new means of payment as they are unfamiliar with technology and they have conservative personality. First of all, credit cards and bank applications are so convenient, safe and environmentally friendly. In other words, there is a risk of robbery and theft in cash purchasing, however individuals easily can block their accounts in case of any unforeseen dangers in their digital payments. For example, my mother’s wallet was stolen several times in the subway. Moreover, all credit cards have passwords which guarantee their immunity, so nobody can misuse them, if they are stolen or lost. Needless to mention, printing notes has negative impact on the ecosystem because trees and water should be used to produce paper. Although technology can facilitate human lives, old generation may not adapt themselves properly with this innovation. For instance, my grandfather is not able to use smart phones, let alone bank applications. Furthermore, they have misconception that online payment is not safe and secure due to risk of cyber-attacks. The risk could be mitigate by some conservative actions including setting powerful passwords. In a nutshell, due to upgrading technology, cash payment will be obsolete in the near future and the new innovative methods will play the significant role in the management of financial transaction. It is very important to educate people especially senior ones to use these new methods safely.