Most of the people in the society enjoy watching crime movies and criminal TV programs. Why do you think people have more interest to watch them? What is the impact to the society due to this?

It seems that crime movies, criminal TV programs have captured the minds of people everywhere. In this essay, I explore the background to that fascination and its likely impact on us all. Crime dramas are addictive Crime shows appeal to our desire for excitement — that's the number one reason people want them. These shows are typically packed with suspenseful plot lines, high-stakes drama and deeply layered characters for the ultimate television binge experience. It appeals to the audience's curiosity of delving into weird stories of determining what motivated a criminal and solving complex cases not just on physical challenge but also psychological intrigue. In addition, these shows frequently take on a good versus evil theme offering an overarching tale of justice that appeals to our fundamental need for moral structure. Crime genres also appeal by often offering a form of escapism. Most importantly, people like to escape their lives and experience a world that is far different from the one they have to (or want) live in every day. The depiction of crime and detection presents a highly sensationalized (often glamorised) reality against more quotidian elements of routine everyday life. Crime content in media, although widely available and consumed does impact society to a great extent. Desensitization is another major issue. The more people are exposed to violence or criminal behaviour, the less empathy they will have towards real world victims of crime and abuse. This desensitization could lead to more violence-tolerant beliefs and behaviors among individuals within the culture, as well a normalization of accepted "norms" towards mayhem. In addition, crime shows at times can warp peoples view on what is common in relation to criminal activity and law. The programmes often over play the regularity and form of criminal activities, painting a much higher picture of crime which heightens our own sense if fear/whatever about being safe. You may also provide a more shallow and idealised portrayal of the criminal justice process, which then generate illusions around policing being perfect or how courts operate. To conclude, the following reasons can be considered while pondering over why crime movies and TV programs are so popular: Well-crafted narratives A thrill of psychology entailed in it Although they stand as good entertainment and provide an outlet for fantasising, it is worth stopping to question how the portrayal of crime through this medium affects what we are capable of normalising in our society. Ensuring that any destructive consequences for people remain minimal is key in keeping the entertainment you provide responsibly balanced.