In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

There is no denying that modern technology has been significantly promoted by the development of technology. Consequently, more individuals tend to shop in larger suburban shops rather than urban retailers, leading to an increase car ueage and a decline in smaller urban stores. While some people look upon this trend as a positive progress, others view it as an overall negative development. From my perspective, the potential drawbacks driven by this tendency have outweigh the benefits, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one significant factor contributing to the belief is the inconvenience faced by people without cars. To be more specific, people who have limited access to personal transport methods have to spend more amount of time taking public transportation to reach the distant larger shopping center, especially when they require specific items that only sale in suburban wholesalers. For instance, the elderly, disabled people, and the poor who unable to afford a car, need to spend hours by buses or trains to reach the countryside shops, making purchase more costly than before. Additionally, this behavioral transformation also exacerbating social segregation. To be more specific, customers without cars often also the same group of people in lower economic srtata, and due to the limitations of transport, they can only shop in the smaller downtown shops with fewer options. On the other hand, wealthy residents who own their cars, are allowed to travel far to the countryside wholesalers, engaging the discount prices and more selections, ultimately leading to a distinctive society. Moreover, under the increasing utilitation utilization of automobile, the demand for car production mutually showed upward trend, inevitably producing more pollutant, such as carbon dioxide and other waste by-products. Coupled with the increase emission of polluted gases generated during car operation, both directly and indirectly poses harm on humans and wildlife. However, others argue that the purchase preference progress potentially leading to suburban advancement. After major shopping center nestled in the underdeveloped regions, it subsequently brings more infrastructures, including roads, lightnings, and public transportations. Although this trend causing more drawbacks than positives, the benefit aspects cannot be negligent. In summary, despite there are undoubtly some potential progressing in suburban development, the negatives including inconvenience to the weak and the poor have lead to a inequal society. To address this, the government sould could support people without cars to even the exacerbating social distinction.