Some people believe that wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that spending money on the wild animals is futile, because there isn’t enough space for them to survive. Personally, I disagree with this statement, and I will outline the reasons in this essay. In my opinion, everything exists for a reason, we have no right to decide the survival of a species. Wild animals ’ existence brings many profits. To be specific, the existence of wild animals promotes biodiversity and prevents the extinction of some certain species. If wild animals die out, they will never come back, which is a huge loss to the sustainable development of the earth and constrains the opportunity to study wild animals. So obviously, wild animals should exist, not only for the environment, but also for the human. I also disagree with the idea that protecting animals is a waste of resources. From an environmental perspective, wild animals play a crucial role in the ecological balance. That is to say, their existence can control the numbers of pests effectively. Therefore, the utilization of pesticide is reduced and the forests and farmers are protected. Moreover, if people don’t conserve biodiversity, it may have no influence in the short term, but in the long run, it will have a much more serious impact on the earth than we expect, which means that people might spend more money on tackling those problems than protecting these wild animals at present. We should not regard spending money to protect animals as a waste. In conclusion, I think that protecting animals is wasting resources is a ludicrous idea. I believe we should do everything we can to protect them.