Some people think that government should decide which subject should students’ study at the University while others believe that students should be allowed to apply for subjects they prefer. Discuss both views.

Nowadays, university degrees become ubiquitous and mandatory right for people to learn deeper into a specific field and multiple bachelor's majors are offered by colleges to students. It has been a great contention, whether the government should decide a pupil's subjects or whether students should be permitted to choose their career path freely. While determining a disciple's career path would be beneficial for efficient resource allocation, it might be quite opposite to their passion. Firstly, massive unemployment is a general problem in most countries, specifically third-world countries. This problem arises because university graduates are not suitable for industrial demand. To mitigate this issue, deciding on student majors would potentially help to align manpower expertise to occupation requirements. For instance, China underwent an industrial revolution, altering from an agricultural to a manufacturing era. According to this change, an engineering degree would be fitly juxtaposed to the agricultural era. As a result, besides it solves the lack of occupation problem, it would be suitable with China's road map, so that their economy will continuously grow. On the other hand, forcing student to learn a different subject from their own passion will have detrimental effects. The former regulation would hinder their full potential since they are on the wrong path. Moreover, disciples might be stressed or unmotivated to learn their major, leading to mental health problems. To exemplify, people, who are passionate about art, would feel daunted if they were located an engineering degree and vice versa. To sum up, both views have their own merit and risk. I personally believe that the government, through the appropriate departments, should provide a recommendation rather than determining their major directly. A psychological test and consolidation could be conducted to enlight them regarding the benefits and risks of majors. However, at the end of the day, disciples have to determine their future independently.