News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The widespread use of electronic devices, has made humans more aware of their surroundings. With the help of radio, TV or even online programs every happening across the globe soon becomes public knowledge. Even though the advanced technology may make it seem like nothing is overlooked; that is not the truth. Many accidents won’t get to the news, some even intentionally so. What deserve more coverage? Who decides that? The burden of choosing what to inform the general public of, under which light and with how much detail; is the responsibility of news editors. While they may consider several factors on how to approach this issue; the most important aspect is viewer engagement: The more views a certain story gets, the more overall profit it brings to the channel. Unfortunately, people respond to emotional triggers pretty well. We tend to remember sad controversial stories. Anger at the reported injustice and the difference of opinions on a certain matter makes it all the more interesting to follow. A good example of this could be the politician’s opinion on migration. It is a hot topic which several groups with different agendas look for. Another important factor is celebrity involvement. Arguments or feuds among celebrities are sadly, entertaining for the general public. Not to mention the huge fan base of teenagers with free time, ready to defend their favorite singer or dancer. This is exactly why artists’ personal life is often closely reported on TV. As mentioned before, events carrying an overall negative aura tend to be more attention grabbing. It is no secret that the society in whole is not set toward a happy healthy outcome. Viewers are bombarded with negativity every day; be it on climate change, worker condition or etc. this, in turn makes them used to constant worrying. As such, great news has been made something that can be left alone. They require no additional action from the masses. While it is understandable for the broadcasting outlets to concentrate on negatives for the sake of higher views and profits; positives are what push people to try and pay attention. The notion that something wrong could be fixed and someday be turned into right is what motivates us. Therefore, for a perfect approach to reporting, the balance between these should be delicately kept.