In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised.Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an increase in the retirement age in quite a lot of countries which can be advantageous in some aspects. However, I tend to believe that the consequences of this circumstance are much more concerning than its benefits which I will discuss further in the following essay. It is undeniable that as the retirement age inclines, the more beneficial it is for the individuals’ finances as more years of work can allow for increased savings. Moreover, it can reduce people’s dependence on government pensions and social security as people work longer as they do not need support from the authorities. Furthermore, in several countries, some people are actually striving to work longer because they are actually passionate about it. For instance, studies on most of the people in Japan after 60 years old shows that they would have a feeling of uselessness if they have nothing to work. While the idea of raising the working age can bring some advantages for some reason, I personally believe that the detrimental results in the long term should not be ignored. Additionally, this results in the incline trend of unemployment rate and economic stagnation because the increase in the time of working can reduce job opportunities for the younger generations as they delay the career advancement and development for young individuals. Furthermore, raising retirement age can have negative impacts on people’s health as those who do labouring work in their elderly age, they may face physical challenges with demanding tasks, leading to accidents and illness. In conclusion, while the definition of rising workers’ retiring time can be advantageous for some individuals and the economy, its drawbacks outweigh significantly due to the loss in employment for the younger generation and its risky effect on older workers’ health in the long term.