Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some people that advertising could lead to unnecessary consumption while others believe it helps popularize new goods that could enhance people ’s living standard. To a certain extent, I believe that promotion contributes to people using their money for unnecessary purposes. This essay will discuss both views and give a nuanced approach. On one hand, advertising is one of the most important and effective ways to manipulate people into thinking that consuming more products is a need. Compared to the past, electronic cigarettes used to be a big success in the 2000s because it prevented many cigars addicts from having tuberculosis and lung cancer. However, nowadays when the market is saturated, there are less chances to invent a new revolutionary product that changes people ’s lives. Even if there are life-changing products, it will likely be harder to access customers due to the acquisition of big companies, since they only care about their own benefits. On the other hand, I believe that the major purpose of promotion is persuading customers to buy products regardless of their intended use. Companies often exaggerate small features to promote. For example, there are no differences in features between Iphone 11 and 12 besides their size and their price. However, Apple can still sell a lot of products due to their marketing tricks, since they only focus on profits not on their customers' experiences. Moreover, businesses hire the most glamorous and beautiful influencers to sponsor their products. consequences, more and more people will purchase the product, not only because of the brand’s images but also because of the model’s images. In conclusion, I agree that advertising is successful at encouraging us to use our money on unnecessary products because of their talented way to manipulate people.