Today tourism is one of the world’s biggest industries, and many poorer countries are depending more and more on tourism for their economy. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a large number of tourists visiting a country?

With tourism being one of the largest industries, counties are becoming more reliable on attracting tourists in order to strenghten their economy. There are many advantages and disadvantages to being a popular country among tourists with negative effects being in the lead. Firstly, the main advantages of tourism, are the economic benefits for the government and local tourist companies. Many shop owners and tour guides rely on a steady flow of customers, and are often in a close proximity to historical landmarks or tourist attractions. Therefore, they are able to catch tourists into so called " tourist traps" and make a considerably large sum of money every day. Secondly, tourism creates a huge demand for new job openings on popular tourist sites, and it can also motivate the country to preserve their historic buildings and monuments. However, there are many distvantages to tourism, one of them being overcrowding. This is mostly an issue when it comes to the popular parts of town or historical landmarks. Furthermore, this leads to a loud enviroment that disturbs not only people but also animals living in the area, actively forcing them out of their natural habitat. Additionaly, tourism can create financial stress for locals, mostly when it comes to overpriced food and clothing, especially in huge tourist areas. This leads to increased crime rates and unemployment, and creates a situation in which the country fully depends on tourism to have a basic functioning economy. In conclusion, there are many disadvantages and advantages to being a tourist country and depending fully on tourism. However, in my opinion, the negative aspects can in many cases outweigh the positive ones.