Gaming is argued to have a bad influence on young children but some people think that it could have a positive effect on them as well. Which view do you agree with? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Whether gaming can negatively impact the young generation has become an ongoing debate since the invention of computer games. Even though I believe that gaming could help adults to relive stress, it is not recommended for young children to give games a try due to its addictive nature and inappropriate content. I will explain these points with examples in the following essay. To start with, games are designed to be captivating and engaging to attract user to play. Most young children, if not all, who do not have the maturity to resist distractions, could be obsessed with gaming because they are generally more interesting than books. Gaming addiction, a worldwide common issues, can drive pupils’ focus away from study to games. Millions of adult addicts are suffering from the impulsive need to play and cannot help getting rid of the interactive entertainment, let alone the young children who have greater difficulty with self-control. In addition to addiction, inappropriate content in games also worries parents that their children might learn violent and sexual ideas from them. First, violent and action theme dominates the market. Take the popular gun game CoS as an example, players need to kill others to win. It undeniably arouses children ’s interest on guns and weapons, and might lead to behavioral issues, if they want to mimic the characters in the virtual world. Secondly, sexually explicit materials are often adopted in games as well, especially the animated. Introducing interactive entertainment to toddlers means exposing them in inappropriate content. In conclusion, gaming has detrimental effects on young students, leading them to addictive behaviors at the expenses of academic performance and exposing them in inappropriate content. It is therefore not recommended for parents to allow their children to play games at the early age.