In the furture, buses, cars and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside will be passengers. Do you think the advantages driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With technological advancements, the need for drivers in cars and busses will become less needed, as we would be able to provide safe and reliable transport for anyone. In this essay, I am going to list a few advantages and disadvantages of this revolutionary idea. Looking firstly at the positive effects of autonomus vehicles, without the need for a driver, companies would not have to devote time and money into finding drivers and therefore, could prioritize on improving other aspects of public transport. The money for example, could be used to enhance the quality of busses and trains, as well as add more seating spaces and accesible places for disabled people and the elderly. Additionally, with the use of specially programmed softwares in vehicles, many accidents caused by human error could be eventually eliminated, resulting in making the roads much more safer for both pedestrians and passengers. However, there are many negative aspects to this idea. Let's take bus drivers for example, with the use of fully automated vehicles, many would lose their jobs. This could result in increased unemplyment rates as well as the need for new job openings. Moreover, this project would require a tremendous amount of funding and years of development to be completed, therefore lenghtening the process and requiring resources having to be provided by ordinary citizens. Lastly, there are always potential risks of accidents happening due to malfunctions or other technical difficulties. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to implementing driverless vehicles in everyday life, and certain criteria must be established before putting this system to the use.