Many countries want to host international sports event, while other countries think that hosting sports event has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The idea of being a host to a worldwide known sports event can spark both positive and negative emotions. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the potential problems and benefits that come with being the host country and provide my own opinion. On one hand, having the opportunity of hosting an international sports event, brings reckognition and attracts people. Let's take the olympic games for example. With the latest games happening in Paris, the country experienced an increased number of tourists which meant that businesses such as hotels and restaurants were thriving and making more profit than usual. This can benefit the economy and additionally, with the games having to be broadcasted through social media and television, the city had to undergone numerous renovations and changes to look as presentable to the public as possible. For instance, the river Seine had to be meticulously cleaned in order to allow the swimmers to participate safely. On the other hand, countries that want to host such large scale sports event, have to prepare all the neccesary facilities and accomodations accommodation for athletes and staff. Furthermore, this puts a huge financial strain on the economy of the state, and with the immense amount of sports and athletes, it is often required to build new stadiums or hotels. In the case of cleaning and preparing the river Seine, millions of euros had to be spent to make the quality of the water as safe as possible, only for five swimmimg events to take place in it. It is therefore a question whether a country is willing fund and cover all the expenses of the event and if it is financially worth it. In my opinion, allowing popular sports events to take place in your city has its benefits when it comes to attracting tourists and showcasing a country's capability of being the host. However, the disadvantages and problems can be especially hard on the economy and if not managed properly, can cause more harm than good. In order for a country to host a large scale sports event, there should be special precautions taken to ensure, that there are mainly benefits gained.