Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

That sugar is harmful when it is taken more than usual is an undeniable fact. In spite of this fact, many companies produce products that consist of a lot of sugar. Whether increasing the price of these kinds of products to make people stay away from sugar or not is a controversial idea. I completely disagree with this opinion and think they shouldn’t be more expensive. First of all, I believe that many people tend to purchase more expensive products when it comes to eating because they think higher-priced foods are more delicious. Additionally, it may be more attractive to people when it is unreachable. For example, I generally choose the big burgers outside when I want to be satisfied and I look for the expensive ones. In my opinion, many people are doing the same. Therefore, it is not a good idea to make not cheap the foods. Secondly, according to me, many cheap manufactured foods are more dangerous for human health since they include many destructive ingredients. Hence, if the costs are increased, many people will go for the cheap products ignoring the danger also. For instance, a family who is trying to live under difficult conditions would always buy reasonable products for their children. That’s why higher prices could have more demolishing effects on people. To conclude, I totally disagree with this argument. Encouraging people to consume less sugar is a good idea but, higher prices are not. However, governments can consider other options for human health.