Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern society, technology has significantly changed people ’s lives. Some people believe that some young people spend more time on their mobile phones daily. In this essay, I will explain the various negative statements and explain why I support my opinion with examples. Firstly, one prominent reason is technology improvements. To illustrate this nowadays there are many game features added on the latest smartphones such as Candy Crush, Temple Run and PUBG. these games are specially designed for children. Therefore, young people spend more hours on their mobile. For example, In India, a boy called Rahul committed suicide because of a game named Blue Whale and it affected most of the young people in that country. On the other hand, youngsters are affected by health issues and wasting their time briefly in this modern era, most schools have changed to online study systems due to COVID-19 and still they continue it. Thus, most children are addicted to their phones and the affected by health causes such as eye problems and reduced memory power. For instance, in China the open university students did research regarding children spend how many hours every day on their smartphone. The results were there are 75% of children used it more than 5 hours a day. and 25% of them are affected by visualization problems. In conclusion, while it is true there are positive statements like technology improvements, the negatives such as children being affected by health issues and wasting their time are undeniable. Therefore, I strongly believe the negatives far outweigh the positives.