Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that art subjects including painting and drawing are unnecessary for students to learn in high school. From my observation, I am totally convinced that they should be optional because their precious time should be spent on other important academic fields. On the one hand, it is undoubted that there are some benefits from attending drawing classes. First, it helps them think outside the box and be more creative. Also, it requires them to experiment with different approaches and solutions so their problem-solving abilities are enhanced. Moreover,they are considered as a calming activity which helps attendees relieve stress and anxiety. The fact is that students learning art often suggest more great ideas and behave calmly than those who never join any artistic activities. On the other hand, time which is spent on these classes should be allocated to other crucial areas. First of all, high school students have to study lots of subjects in order to pass the important university entrance exams with flying colours. Therefore, they should be given more chances to practice core subjects like maths, physics and literature. Second, it often takes learners much time to come up with ideas and express them in their work which puts them under high pressure when dealing with many tasks given within several hours after school. Last but not least, only those who have talents feel excited when learning this subject, others tend to feel bored and consider it a waste. In conclusion, from what is mentioned above, I suppose that teenagers should not be forced to learn art, instead, they should be allowed to invest time and effort into main subjects and outdoor activities