In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, many advertisements focus on emphasising that the products are new. Even though It is helpful to catch people's attention, I believe it can make the opposite respond. In this essay, I will discuss why many companies focus on emphasising “new” and show my opinion. First of all, the reason why the emphasis is on the word “new” is because it is eye-catching among a number of advertisements. The more competition of advertising is getting fierce, the harder it is to catch the consumer’s interest. Consumers tend to react to something new because people have a desire and curiosity about new things. Eventually, consumer's interest and curiosity lead people to visit the shop. Moreover, focusing on “new” can give consumers a positive brand’s image. To make something new the company has to keep innovating and developing their products. Besides, to make it better the brand has to observe consumers. It makes a good impression that the company keeps progressing and listening to consumer’s voices. Finally, the positive brand’s image can drive consumers to buy their products. However, I believe there are a few negative effects that could be involved. As the competition of advertising is getting aggressive, the term “new” is abused. It becomes not special but rather ordinary. This way of advertising does not work anymore and then the company has to find another way to make advertisement effective. Furthermore, overuse of the concept of new makes consumers hard to believe. For example, Apple always advertises that the new IOS came out but it barely changed. Everytime the product is a little bit changed but pretend it is a huge innovation. It could make consumers tired and distrustful. Therefore, it is really important to know how often to use the term for new. In conclusion, emphasising that their products are new is becoming a trend and getting common. It stands out to people and works to make a positive brand’s impression. In my opinion, overuse of the word will finally make opposite effects such as ineffectiveness and mistrust. Therefore, the company should use the word in a wise way.