In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages to study abroad?

Having the resources to be able to study in a different country is a privilige to many around the world. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the positive and negative sides, as well as provide arguments and examples that there are to moving and receiving education abroad. On the one hand, being able to travel to a completely different state and enroll in a university programm program, can be advantageous in broadening a person's experience and intelligence. For instance, by studying in England, you are able to soak up local culture and customs as well as become more fluent by practicing the language on a daily basis. By enrolling in a course that is primarily in english, you are able to strenghten your speaking skills and enlarge your vocabulary. Therefore, obtaining valuable qualities, which can be later used in finding a well-paying job or when meeting new people. Moreover, the university can provide a large variety of programms programs and research opportunities that may not be available in your home country. On the other hand, moving to a foreign country often requires tremendous amounts of funds and energy. You also have to find an affordable place to live, with rent being especially high around the university campus. To illustrate, a person has to arrange all their belongings to be transported and moved into the new apartment, which together with flight tickets can round up a to large price. Additionally, student fees can vary when it comes to international students, and can come up to thousands of euros per year for just basic tuition. This puts a large financial strain on a person and their family, and without a steady income, being able to afford this new life can be challenging. To sum up all the arguments that have been stated in this essay, studying in a foreign country has its benefits however, most of the time the disadvantages can outweight them and make life in a new city difficult for students.