In some countries, physical education is a compulsory subject for the leaving certificate. Some people suggest that this practice be abolished. Which view do you agree with? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and details.

Even when physical education has been included in schools’ curriculum for decades, some people nowadays opt for the abolishment of it. I strongly disagree with this view and will explain my reasons in this essay. Firstly, pupils can gain sports knowledge via physical education, getting a better understanding of the hard work of the athletes representing their countries in Olympic games. Through practicing a variety of sports activities, such as volleyball, badminton and dancing, the young generations could gain practical knowledge of sports games. More importantly, they might find their interests in sports and pursue it throughout their lives. The majority of athletes started their careers since they were a child. Secondly, physical education guarantees a consistent exercise for students to build up a habit of regular physical activity by the age when healthy routines are most easily established. To address the widespread obesity and other health-related issues associated with sedentary lifestyle, it is essential to introduce toddlers to physical activities and instill interests in which they would continue practice after graduation. Sports teams encourage teammates to practice on a weekly basis, fostering a healthy habit which will last for a lifetime In conclusion, since physical education benefits children in many ways, and cannot be replaced by textbooks, I strongly disagree with the idea that it should be eliminated from the curriculum.