The teaching of Information Technology (computers) has become a standard part of the curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that the computer learning is being used more and more in primary and secondary schools were students’ ages variate between 6 and younger, which could lead to the lack of their knowledge about basic skills while IT skills vastly exceed. It is argued that Information Technology lessons could occur problems as being a major subject, whereas other courses will be less valuable for pupils. This essay will discuss firstly, the unimportance of teaching IT skills and secondly, the crucial role of knowing basic skills among children in an early stage of school. To start with, the IT lectures for children at an early age has no need to know. Because at this age, usually pupils are still exploring the outside world step by step, and other complicated courses could cause the demotivation of learning and distracting their mind from more important things for their physical and mental development. For instance, scientists of the Columbian University conducted the research on this issue and came to the result that the brain of students of primary and secondary schools are in a great development, and spending a lot of time in front of monitors could harm their natural way of forming personality. Secondly, basic skills are playing main role on raising and developing personality of youngsters in a right way, as it is made of communication skills, maintaining hygiene, first aid, and behavioral skills. Thus, as long as they do not know all these essential rules, children will not be able to explore other complicated studies. For example, based on research of UNESCO of 2020 in an early level of growing, it is preferred to teach children to communicate with the world and prepare them for self-service, after embracing all these skills, schools should add other curriculums as IT studying. In conclusion, education system should do the concentration on teaching the pupils to the basic skills, and after finishing these courses young students will be ready to obtain the knowledge about IT and other difficult subjects.