Many first year university students discover that their chosen subjects do not suit them.Why does this happen? What can be done to ensure that students choose a suitable subject?

In the contemporary epoch, subject selection plays an important role in shaping the future of an individual. Learning and understanding the future prospect will help to choose a respective major as a freshman.Numerous complications are faced by undergraduates while opting for major in first -year of university,as they are not aware of their field of interest and lack future cognizant. Firstly,choosing a subject will define your career. Most of the students are unaware of which course to opt for since the majority of them are not properly conselled. Counselling plays a significant role in determining your interests and providing students with guidance keeping in view the future demands. For Instance, studies have shown that nearly 76% of students are not properly counselled in the institutions placing their future at stake. Next, another reason for not deciding what to choose is lack of self-evaluation ability. Self evaluation determines students ' field of interest. It also develops awareness about specific fields so that no impedance comes in the way. For instance; reports state that undergrads are more likely to change their chosen field as they fail self evaluation. As a result., it is important that students must take proper counselling from teachers or the experts following self assessments.. In order to ensure that the correct subject has been chosen, it is important that a freshman studies every field thoroughly and matches his interests so that he may not struggle to choose a subject. Furthermore,careful research must be done before opting for a particular field. Also, taking suggestions from the experts of the field will facilitate the decision making,. Moreover, it is important that teachers expound the fields that match the students personality and intrinsic mindset. To conclude, it is imperative that institutions arrange proper classes for subject guidance and endorse collaborative learning,because it will widen their horizons and will help to shape their prosperous future.It is also suggested that diverse learning ambiance should be provided to the scholars to cultivate multiple skills.