Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and imagination than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

For a better development of skills and imagination of a child, adults are advised to do fun activities alongside the child instead of just reading. Whilst I believe that doing accompanying children to do enjoyable activties is necessary for the children's imagination and skill development, reading is also an important addition to fun activities for basic linguistic and comprehension development during early childhood. Firstly, accompanying children to do fun activities such as drawing, coloring, and other montessory activities allows children to build both their motoric skills and imagination. For example, adults supervising children drawing allows children to fully use their imagination and creativity whilst exercising their hands mobility. Doing house chores together with children such as folding the laundy, cooking meals, or cleaning the house also models for a good fun activity to do together. This is because although these activities seems mundane to adults, it is a new activity that children are curious to learn about, allowing them to explore new sensory skills whilst developing a good habit and basic life skills that prepares them for adulthood. Nonetheless, reading is just as important for children in their early childhood to develop their linguistic, comprehension, and critical thinking skill. Reading not only allows children to develop their abilities to understand and comprehend a situation, but also build their curiosities and abilities to assess a situation. As children assess a situation and explore their curiosity, they will learn to form their own opinion which leads to a solid foundation for critical thinking. Furthermore, reading will also form children's ability to speak and write. In conclusion, both reading and fun activities are necessary for the development of children's imagination, life, linguistic, and critical thinking during early childhood stage.