Governments should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environmemt. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Governments should allocate more funds to medical research, as the protection of human health takes precedence over environmental protection initiatives. Expending resources on pressing issues in healthcare, such as developing vaccines for highly infectious diseases or seeking treatments for life-threatening illnesses, not only enhances the quality of life, but it is also a matter of survival for humankind. Although environmental campaigns can address global problems like climate change and pollution, they may not have an immediate impact on improving public health like medical advances do and thus fail to combat the cases of contagious diseases. This prolonged response time can lead to increased infected cases and higher mortality rates. Therefore, it is imperative to prioritize resources towards medical research instead of environmental protection efforts.