Some people think children should have the freedom to make mistakes while other people believe that the habit of making mistakes may adversely affect children's development and therefore adults should prevent this. To what extent do you agree with the statement? Elaborate on your answer.[743]

In this day and age, children ’s upbringing has been a topic of ongoing debates. Whether in their childhood or in their academic years, children are bound to make mistakes. Some advocate the notion that children should have the freedom to make mistakes while others express strong opposition for fear of its potential dreadful effects on child’s development. From my perspective, the former is clearly more convincing and in what follows, I will provide pertinent reasoning to further substantiate my stance. Skeptics have raised a concern that the practice of mistake making bears a latent risk of adversely affecting children ’s development. They argue that if children are exposed too much to misconduct and shows behaviour of social evils like addiction or crime, without necessary measures, they will not be assured of a bright future. Admittedly, this view is valid, but only to some extent. External support is not being taken into consideration in this case. In children ’s process of trials and errors, with enough surveillance of adults, they can thrive in a much safer environment and as a result, running lower risk of misdeed. Therefore, the above concern appears to be groundless. On the other hand, an argument supporting the notion of mistake making in children is that it can aid in the development of a growth mindset. This is because after several wrongdoings, children can start to notice that failure is not a permanent condition and gradually, they can overcome adversities and become a better version of themselves, given that they have perseverance and passion. Moreover, it can also help foster responsibility. As a matter of fact, when facing the consequences,lessons learnt from them stays longer with children. Consequently, the repurcussions of their wrongdoings instill fear into their minds, thus preventing similar courses of actions from reoccuring. The above discussion has already highlighted the limitations of the opposing view. To reiterate, while impeding children from making mistakes can be a valid parenting approach to some extent, I hold firm to my belief that children should be allowed to experience failures to learn meaningful lessons.