In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Importation of food all over the world tends to provide diversity in food in few countries. I, believe there are significant benefits of transporting food and enjoying various cuisines rather than depending upon on local food only. To begin with, transportation of food from country to country can enhance cultural knowledge among nations and can preserve the heritage of food culture. Not only the cultural aspect plays vital role but diverse food can have numerous nutritional benefits. Due to various weather conditions, not all the countries can produce all types of crops and food. So, relying upon different countries for different foods and culinary traditions is the most suitable way to have a balanced diet. Moreover, transportation is directly linked to import and export which is a considerable approach to boosts the economy and the nation. Also, it creats employment opportunities and generating good source of income which fosters international trade. On the contrary, if a country will focus majorly on imported food, it can have substantial amount of negative impact on the local food farmers and food producers which consequently is a indication towards a dip in economic growth. Additionally, packed and compressed food comparitively to the fresh food can be harmful for the health of locals. Thus, if supply chain or logistics might get disturbed, it can ruin the food chain of a particular country relying upon the imported food. To conclude, foreign trade of food has an edge over relying upon one country's own food. Hence, diversity in food can have environmental, cultural and nutritional benefits along with the economy growth.