Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.[404]

As the paucity of accomodation is looming as an ongoing challenge of the contemporary society, manifold governments suggest repurposing parkland as residential areas. From my perspectives, I am staunchly opposed to this petition due to enourmous advantages that parklands offer The presence of parkland offers numerous benefits that incentivize the enhancement of citizens' living condition. It is undeniable that parks provide valuable leisure amenities – a place to picnic, walk, kick a ball, play with the children, or just immerse in the surroundings and relax. The diminuition of such seemingly “urban hideaway” can adversely influence the overall quality of life by limiting areas for relaxation, recreation, resulting in lowered mental well-being among the general community. Consider also that, with the rising epidemic of obesity, it is more important than ever to make space available for physical exercise. Another advantage that parklands offer is their boosting effect on social bond. Parks in crowded cities is considered a melting pot where people from all walks of life are welcomed. This eventually allows social interactions to happen, thereby bolstering interdependence and strengthening the connection within the community. The downgrade of the environment and biodiversity is also a pertinent concern when it comes to the demolition of parkland. Indeed, due to the indispensable role that parklands play in redressing the balance between human acitivies and wildlife, specifically by providing natural habitats for animals, reducing urban heat islands and so on, destroying these urban oases is synonymous with tipping the scale against natural elements. Worsened air quality, disrupted animal habitats are cases in point that connote the necessity of parkland in urban areas. In conclusion, although I appreciate the problem, I wholeheartedly disagree with the view that parks should be used to mitigate housing shortages in cities due to its benefits in terms of health, social relationship and ambient environs. If space is truly at a premium, city planners would do better to look at reducing the urban sprawl of shopping malls and parking lots.