Some people advocate for free health care while others think it can be counterproductive. Discuss both views and give your opinion.[313]

Health care is largely considered a human right, but whether such a right should be given to everyone free of charge has polarized people. In my opinion, despite certain shortcomings, universal health care can bring a slew of merits to a nation and can surpass the advantages offered by private health care. The belief shared by most private health system advocates is not entirely unfounded. One common rationale is that equal medical care to everyone may hinder the quality of health service rendered to patients and increase their wait times. Considering the myriad appointments, increased demand and even dearth of manpower that may occur as a result of unhampered patient volume, one can be under the misapprehension that universal health coverage will only bring insidious effects and wreak havoc on the ailing populace. Another cause of concern is raised taxation and if it fails to cover the cost of universal care, perharps a paucity of government revenue. Since health care is now paid by the governing bodies, it might be difficult for them to appropriate the appropriate funds needed to run state-owned health clinics. Taxpayers may have to allocate a heftier sum of money to governmental health departments and only receive a marginally better health care as their money will be diffused more widely to more people instead of to themselves and their families only. Universal care, however, has its fair share of benefits, some of which might trump the demerits. Increased tax may at first seem counterproductive, but it could also prompt people to recalibrate their beliefs and truly understand the significance of their tax. Owing to universal health coverage, every patient can freely have a medical check-up, screen themselves for dormant diseases and properly deal with them. To illustrate, in cases where medical costs are exorbitant, people will be reluctant to enter clinics and thus, may unknowingly spread dormant, albeit contagious, ailments to others. With government -funded medical care in place, patients will have to pay tax and in a way, cover everybody's medical cost but also ensure the safety of their family members simultaneously. Though most opponents of free health care hold the notion that it can devalue the medical service that everyone receives, they sometimes fail to account for the government's efforts to correctly evaluate and recognize those who are in a more urgent need of health service. Patients suffering from chronic diseases, for instance, may experience more severe symptoms over time, but those struck by a fatal and life-threatening ailment will not have much time to live and thus, should be prioritised. With this measure in place, government will manage their medical resources better and be able to utilize them to their full extent. In conclusion, although public medical services may have unseen demerits, its advantages can cancel out its drawbacks with the government's endeavours and offer the ailing popultion multiple benefits.