Studies have shown that many young children worry about their appearance What are the reasons for this? What might best be done to reduce the problems?

In today’s society, the majority of teenagers are concerned about their appearance. This is caused by many factors which I will elaborate them and discuss the ways that can be done to reduce the problems. Firstly, social media is one of the biggest reasons. For example, on social media, people are able to comment on other people’s faces. The worst case would be criticising their facial structures. This causes teenagers to be stressed and worried about how they look as they fear to be judged by others. A research has been done in 2020 about how a person’s behaviour can be affected by social media. It states that more than 50% of the people were influenced, evidencing that these platforms are likely to cause youngsters to be worried about their faces. However, this can be solved by taking a break from social media. If children are able to focus on other things in life, they will not be affected and would be less worried about their looks. Secondly, this might be caused by the strict beauty standards posed by the community. According to information from the media, only people with tall nose bridges, double eyelids and small face are considered as ‘pretty’. This has raised many concerns and caused them to be insecure about their physical appearance. Nevertheless, this can be improved if more education are done on self-confidence. For instance, promoting the beauty of diverse facial features, breaking the beauty standards that are suggested nowadays. This would boost their confidence level so decreasing their insecurities. In conclusion, social media and beauty standards are the major reasons for this. But they can all be reduced by raising self-confidence and taking a rest from social media.